Shop for Philadelphia Eagles gear at

Former Eagles S Brian Dawkins and WR Terrell Owens Elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018

The Eagles are getting set to be on the biggest stage in football tomorrow in Super Bowl LII, but Saturday two of their former players earned the games’ highest honor.

Former Eagles safety Brian Dawkins, who played with the Eagles from 1996-2008, and wide out Terrell Owens, who was in Philly from 2004-2005 both received football’s greatest honor as they will get busts in Canton, Ohio.

Joining Dawkins and Owens in the class of 2018 are Randy Moss, Brian Urlacher and Ray Lewis, plus senior selections Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer, and contributor Bobby Beathard.

The players will go into the Hall on in Canton, Ohio, on Saturday August 4th.

Dawkins came to the Eagles in the second round (No. 61 overall) in 1996 and was voted the team’s defensive MVP five times.

A member of the 2000s NFL All-Decade Team, Dawkins earned nine Pro Bowl selections in his career (second-most all time by a safety) and logged 1,146 total tackles, 37 interceptions, 179 pass-breakups, 36 forced fumbles, 19 fumble recoveries and 26 sacks.

In his two publicized seasons with the Eagles, Owens caught 20 touchdowns on 124 receptions for 1963 yards, and played in the Super Bowl on a bad ankle.

The following season he was suspended by then Eagles coach Andy Reid for conduct, and eventually was gone from the team after the 2005 season.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Eagles Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply